info@flexdropin.com
Home/Blog/How much are BJJ classes? Real jiu-jitsu prices by academy
Guides

How much are BJJ classes? Real jiu-jitsu prices by academy

Real prices from 13 US academies: unlimited and limited plans, drop-ins and day passes, free trials, private lessons and the extra fees.

October 2, 20269 min readBy FlexDropin
Follow us on Google:
Two athletes in gis during a Brazilian jiu-jitsu class on the mats.

Brazilian jiu-jitsu (BJJ) is almost always sold as a monthly membership, but the price varies a lot from one academy to the next: some charge $150 a month with no contract, others $400. What matters is the city, the academy’s reputation, what the membership includes (BJJ only, or also Muay Thai, wrestling, a weight room), the contract length and the fees that are not in the monthly price.

Many academies also welcome people who come for a day: travelers, students from other academies, people trying BJJ for the first time. So we look at both memberships and visitor prices.

Unlimited membership: prices at 13 academies

Adult prices read on each academy’s website on October 2, 2026, sorted from the lowest. Where an academy discounts a longer contract we show it; where we work out the monthly price ourselves, we say so.

Adult unlimited membership
Academy (city)Month to monthWith a commitmentSign-up fee
Triangle Jiu Jitsu (Durham, NC)$150no contractsnot stated
Valko Studio (Chicago)$150$1,350 a year ($112.50 a month, our math)no hidden fees
Charlotte Jiu-Jitsu Academy (Charlotte, NC)$180no contractsnone
Orlando BJJ (Orlando)$180—not stated
Seattle Jiu-Jitsu Academy (Seattle)$185—not stated
99 Jiu-Jitsu HQ (San Diego)$190—$120 (includes gi and belt)
The JiuJitsu Company (Philadelphia)$225$185 on a 12-month agreementnot stated
Downtown Jiu Jitsu Club (Chicago)$24928 days’ notice to cancelnot stated
AT Jiu-Jitsu (New York)$299$280 on a 6-month commitment$50
Atos Jiu-Jitsu HQ (San Diego)$350$300 on 6 months, $250 on 12 monthswaived in the current offer
Kingsway Jiu-Jitsu (Austin)$400year-long memberships availablenot stated
Eagle BJJ (Yucaipa, CA)—$429 for 3 months ($143 a month, our math)not stated

A long contract does save money: at Atos HQ the monthly price drops from $350 to $250 on a 12-month contract, $1,200 less a year (our math). In exchange you pay even in months when you barely train or are injured.

If you train less: limited-frequency plans

Many academies sell a plan for people who come once or twice a week. It costs less than unlimited, but not always by much.

  • Charlotte Jiu-Jitsu Academy (Charlotte, NC): $150 a month for two days a week, $180 for unlimited.
  • Orlando BJJ (Orlando): $140 for two days a week, $180 for unlimited.
  • Downtown Jiu Jitsu Club (Chicago): $215 for two classes a week, $249 for unlimited.
  • Kingsway Jiu-Jitsu (Austin): $350 for three classes a week, $400 for unlimited.
  • AT Jiu-Jitsu (New York): $160 for one class a week, $225 for two and $275 for four. The academy itself works out the cost per class: $40, $28 and $17.

The gap between twice a week and unlimited is often $30–50 a month. If you expect to train three times a week or more, unlimited almost always wins.

Training as a visitor: drop-ins and day passes

If you are traveling or want to try an academy, you pay for the class or the day. Some academies also sell weekly passes or 10-visit packs.

Visitor prices
AcademyClass or dayOther options
Charlotte Jiu-Jitsu Academy (Charlotte, NC)free for visitors—
Orlando BJJ (Orlando)$20 a class or a dayweek $75, month $200; loaner gi and belt $10
Eagle BJJ (Yucaipa, CA)$20 day passcan be applied to a membership
Gracie Humaita Austin (Austin)$30gi rental $10; beginner classes are free
The JiuJitsu Company (Philadelphia)$40 day pass10 visits for $345, each a full day
99 Jiu-Jitsu HQ (San Diego)$45—
Atos Jiu-Jitsu HQ (San Diego)$60 a session, $75 a dayweek $200, month $350; gi rental $20, rashguard $15
Valko Studio (Chicago)—10 classes for $200, valid 4 months

Before you show up, check the gi rules: Atos HQ only accepts white Atos gis with no other team’s patches, and Gracie Humaita Austin only white or royal blue gis. Rentals cost $10–20.

Free trials

  • Charlotte Jiu-Jitsu Academy (Charlotte, NC): your first two classes are free.
  • The JiuJitsu Company (Philadelphia) and 99 Jiu-Jitsu HQ (San Diego): a free trial week; in Philadelphia it is required before you enroll.
  • Valko Studio (Chicago), Gracie Humaita Austin (Austin) and Atos Jiu-Jitsu HQ (San Diego): first class free.
  • AT Jiu-Jitsu (New York): three trial classes within one week for $35.

Private lessons

Few academies publish private lesson prices: you usually ask the instructor. Eagle BJJ in California charges $125 an hour for an adult and $75 for a child. Downtown Jiu Jitsu Club in Chicago includes one private a month in its $349 VIP membership, $100 more than its regular unlimited plan (our math). The price depends heavily on the instructor’s belt and reputation.

The costs that are not in the monthly price

  • Sign-up fees: $50 at AT Jiu-Jitsu, $120 at 99 Jiu-Jitsu HQ (including a gi and belt); Charlotte Jiu-Jitsu Academy charges none.
  • Notice to cancel: 14 days before billing at The JiuJitsu Company, two weeks at AT Jiu-Jitsu, 28 days at Downtown Jiu Jitsu Club.
  • Holds and admin fees: at The JiuJitsu Company a courtesy hold costs $25 a month, changing membership or re-enrolling within a year costs $100, and late payments cost $2 a day.
  • Gi and gear: if you do not own one, rentals cost $10–20 a class in our examples; some academies include one when you sign up.
  • Competitions: IBJJF tournaments require an IBJJF membership. For the Memphis International Open 2027, registration costs $143 until January 8 and $174 after (standard), or $245–295 for the combo option.

Why prices are so different

  • Reputation and level: the two most expensive academies in our table are Kingsway, Gordon Ryan’s academy in Austin ($400), and Atos HQ in San Diego ($350). Part of the price is the name and the level of the room.
  • What is included: The JiuJitsu Company includes Muay Thai, yoga, open mat and a weight room; AT Jiu-Jitsu includes Muay Thai, kickboxing and kettlebells; Charlotte Jiu-Jitsu Academy includes gi, no-gi and wrestling.
  • City: New York, Austin and San Diego sit at the top; Durham and Chicago (Valko Studio) at the bottom, at $150.
  • Contract: month to month costs more; a 6- or 12-month commitment saves money but removes flexibility.

What you will spend in a month: an example

We take Orlando BJJ, which publishes both memberships and visitor prices, and compare the cost. The math is ours and assumes four weeks in a month. Drop-in rates are meant for visitors and people training temporarily, not for locals.

Example: Orlando BJJ (our math, 4 weeks)
FrequencyDrop-in ($20)2 days a weekUnlimited
Once a week (4 classes)$80$140$180
Twice a week (8 classes)$160$140$180
Three times a week (12 classes)$240not included$180

If you are in town for a few weeks, paying per class costs less; if you live there and train twice a week or more, the membership wins. The $200 visitor month suits someone staying a full month who does not want to sign up.

When a single class is the better deal

Where an academy sells single classes, they suit people who train rarely or irregularly. At Orlando BJJ, at $20 a class, you spend less than the two-days-a-week plan up to 6 classes a month and less than unlimited up to 8 (our math: 6 × 20 = 120 against 140; 8 × 20 = 160 against 180). No sign-up fee, no cancellation notice and no fixed fees.

Training while traveling

If you travel or want to try a new academy, you can pay for a single class or a day pass instead of a membership. Bring your own gi, check the color rules and ask whether some classes require a minimum level. On FlexDropin you can find gyms that sell single classes: you see the price each venue sets before you book, and you pay only for the class you take, with no membership.

Sources

Price lists read on October 2, 2026. Prices change: always check the academy’s website before you go.

Enjoyed this article? Add us as a preferred source on Google!

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

In the price lists of 13 academies we read for this article, an adult unlimited membership costs from $150 (Triangle Jiu Jitsu in Durham, Valko Studio in Chicago) to $400 (Kingsway in Austin). Most sit between $150 and $250.
From free (Charlotte Jiu-Jitsu Academy) to $60 a session (Atos HQ, San Diego). Usually $20–45.
Yes, at many academies: Charlotte Jiu-Jitsu Academy offers two free classes, The JiuJitsu Company and 99 Jiu-Jitsu HQ a free week, and Valko Studio, Gracie Humaita Austin and Atos HQ a free first class.
Few academies publish it. Eagle BJJ in California charges $125 an hour for an adult. Better-known instructors charge more.
Often: sign-up fees (up to $120 in our examples), gi rental ($10–20), cancellation notice periods and fees for holds or membership changes. IBJJF tournaments also need a membership plus the entry fee, $143–295 for the Memphis International Open 2027.
It saves money: Atos HQ drops from $350 to $250 a month on 12 months, The JiuJitsu Company from $225 to $185. It only pays off if you are sure you will train consistently all year.
Learn more

Related disciplines

Keep reading

More from the blog

Book your next drop-in class

Download FlexDropin for free, discover available venues and book single classes without a mandatory membership.

How Much Are BJJ Classes? Jiu-Jitsu Prices by Gym